How Specifically Does Pangolin's On-Chain Governance Work?

Hi everyone,

I’m somewhat new to smart contract development and was hoping this thread could answer some questions I have as to what is meant by “on-chain governance”, both in the context of Pangolin and more generally across Avalanche. Specifically, I’m hoping someone can detail the flow for how changes are proposed, developed, voted upon, and then ultimately merged into the Pangolin smart contract(s).

To illustrate this, I think it would help to walk through an example of how Pangolin would (for example) implement a change to the vesting schedule for liquidity mining. (Again, I’m not actually proposing this, I just need an example).

To the best of my understanding, this flow would look something like the following:

1. Proposal: I create a post in this forum with the Proposal Discussion tag in which I suggest a modification to the vesting schedule. The community debates the idea and ultimately decides to put it up for a vote.
  2. Development: I create a pull request on Github to update the Pangolin smart contract to reflect the change to the vesting schedule that I’m proposing.
  3. Voting: The pull request is voted upon in a “Yea” or “Nea” vote (how? where?) by PNG holders and the side that has more total PNG behind it wins.
  4. Contract Update: The contract is updated to reflect the change to the vesting schedule (again, how? and by whom?).

I’ve already alluded to some of my confusion, but I guess my most concrete questions are: